2014 Women’s 18ers Classic Tournament

Submitted by: Linda Scheffer

Classic Tournament
Challenges 18er Partners

The 18ers’ played the final round of the annual Classic Tournament last Thursday. The golfers paired up with partners and played net best ball of twosome in two rounds of 18 holes each. The best balls of partners for both rounds were added for the final tournament score.

The field was divided into three flights. After play the players gathered at Dollar Clubhouse. Barbecue hamburgers, chips, and dessert, prepared by Dickey Nitta and Rodger Davis, awaited the ladies.

Director of Golf Mark Heptig and Classic Tournament Chair Pat Taylor did the scoring and Mark announced the lucky winners. Captain Del Poirier chaired a brief general meeting following lunch and awards.

The overall winners of this year’s Classic, having the best score of all three flights, were Agnes Shin and Betty Cuniberti with a two-day net score of 123. Flight winners are below.

Flight 1 First: Mary Hufford, Olivia Hsueh, 129; Second: Claudia Terry, Grace Nitta, 130; Third: Janet Choi, Soonee Kim 132; Fourth: Juna Lee, Nancy Park, 134.

Flight 2 Four teams came in all tied at the top with scores of 132. The pro shop followed USGA tie procedures and arrived at the following results. First: Helen Chung, Linda Scheffer; Second: Karen Romak, Kay Doyle; Third: Aisoon Hong, Peggy Yamada; Fourth: Teddi Swanson, Vanida Nalamlieng.

Flight 3 First: Lore Cuttle, Teruko Lapierre, 127; Second: Bari Mantel, Robin Moreau, 130; Third: Joyce Brock, Marilyn Treppa, 135; Fourth: Carol Dickerson, Dorothy Mizono, 139.

Women’s 18ers 2014 Handicap Championship

Shin Wins Handicap Championship
Ramirez Is Runner Up

On May 22, the final day of the 18ers’ Handicap Tournament, Agnes Shin and Gail Ramirez competed for the title of Champion in this year’s Match Play Tournament. This is one of the 18ers two “majors”.

When the last putt dropped, Shin prevailed. Her name will be on the perpetual trophy as Champion for 2014. Flight winners and runners up were: Flight 1: Sil Jung def. Peggy Yamada; Flight 2: Pil Choo def. Mary Hufford; and Flight 3: Claudia Terry def. Nancy Groswird. In the consolation flight there were three winners: Flight 1: Teri Lapierre; Flight 2: Del Poirier; and Flight 3: Teddi Swanson.
All these women played excellent golf exhibiting the necessary skill and endurance to place in this lengthy tournament.
Nancy Groswird organized the four days of this tournament. She presented a lei of bling, money, candy, and surprises to the new Champion. The victory lei was made by Social Chair Grace Nitta.
Ai Soon Hong treated the 18ers to lunch at Dollar Ranch to celebrate her hole-in-one on Hole 16 last February. Inger Bjornsson bought drinks for the whole group to celebrate her ace in March on Hole 4. Dickey Nitta cooked BBQ’d hamburgers served with all the trimmings.

2014 Rossmoor Women’s 18 Hole Golf Club Championship

Agnes Shin scored a rare double victory on Thursday, August 28 when she emerged as the Rossmoor Women’s 18 Hole Golf Club Champion after three days of medal play. It was a tight race between Agnes Shin, Claudia Terry and Grace Nitta, but Agnes ultimately won by one stroke. In May of this year, Agnes Shin also won the other major tournament of this club, the Handicap match play tournament.

Cletia Bowron, Tournament Director, announced the results for all flights of this tournament as follows

Championship Flight:
Low Gross: Agnes Shin (259)
2nd low gross: Claudia Terry (260)
3rd low gross: Grace Nitta (260)

1st Flight:
Low gross: Aileen Choi (284)
2nd low gross: Betty Cuniberti (285)
low net: Del Poirer (209)

2nd Flight:
low gross: Lori Cuttle (326)
2nd low gross: Kay Doyle (329)
low net: Betty Bowles (229)


2014 Club Championship Flight Players

2014 Club Championship Winners