by Daisy Soo Hoo – Club Correspondent

As we say good riddance to 2020 it is a good time to reflect on the accomplishments of the year. When restrictions were lifted in May the Women 18ers had to modify their practices so that everyone could play and participate safely. With the guidance and help from the Pro Shop, Denise Pratt, Tournament Chair, staged check-in on the patio. We are grateful that everyone complied with safety standards displaying respect and care for others. It is particularly gratifying that Rossmoor took immediate action resulting in no known infections in our golf community.

With vaccines on the way and better understanding of disease transmission, we hope to have a full, uninterrupted schedule of fun and competitive golf events in 2021.

Here are a few of the year’s highlights.

Joyce McCann became Club Champion with Claudia Terry, Runner-up. Anna Kim was the Charm winner, Janet Choi had a hole in one on hole 10, and Marva Nielsen shot an eagle on hole 13.

Marcia Belcher is the “Most Improved Player.” Marcia started the season in November 2019 with an index of 37.8 and ended with a 28.7 in November 2020.  

Del Poirier and Agnes Shin tied with the most chip-ins with six each and Claudia Terry made the highest number birdies with 15 birdies. 

The Eclectic winners are Claudia Terry, overall gross, and Ann Hamilton, low net.

First flight: Joanne Kim, gross, Sue Yoon, net. Second flight: Sophia Kim low gross, Joan Baggett, net.  Third flight:  Peggy Yamada low gross, Robin Moreau, net. Fourth flight:  Linda Spiegelman low gross, Jean Carroll, net.

The Northern Pin were awarded to the following members for their outstanding contributions to the club, Laura Kim, Toni Snyder and Janice Davis.

A big thanks to Theresa Kim outgoing Captain for leading her board this year.

The new board for 2021 is Janice Davis, Captain, Daisy Soo Hoo, Co-Captain, Robin Moreau, Secretary and Teddi Swanson, Treasurer.  Committee members:  Claudia Terry – Handicap and Website Chair, Denise Pratt – Tournaments, Stella Chan – Social, Margo Dutton – Publicity, Janice Davis – NCGA Ambassador, Toni Snyder – Membership, Joyce McCann – Rules, Daisy Soo Hoo and Theresa Kim – East Bay Team Play. Laura Kim – Email Blaster & Website & Open Days.  Mary Hufford – Golf Advisory Committee liaison, Theresa Kim Past Captain. 
Special thanks the pro shop staff of Mark Heptig, Brent Mulanax, Wayne Weckerlin, Jacque Vigil, Mark Langford and James Freeman for their assistance throughout the year.

The board appreciates Jacque Vigil for her dedication to the 18ers this year.  Her assistance with the pairings and score tabulations made the running of the weekly outings seamless.

Theresa Kim, outgoing Captain shared her sentiments that Year 2020 was a very unfortunate year for all of us.  Although we played some games we missed having fun gatherings due to the pandemic.  Hope we will have a fun filled Year 2021.  

Happy holidays to all!