by MaryJean Kidd and Janice Davis

The Rossmoor Women’s 18ers welcomed guests from over 20 different golf clubs on June 1 and 2 for their annual golf Invitational.   The “Rossmoor Round Up” kicked off on Wednesday with a welcome cocktail party, putting contest and distribution of Tee prizes, New Balance golf shoes.

The fun continued Thursday morning with 108 golfers enjoying a hearty cowgirl breakfast before heading out to corral those golf balls. The team game format was best low gross plus best low net.  Players were welcomed at tee boxes across the course by the event sponsors who included Xfinity, VIP Golf Cart Service, Custom Exteriors, Rossmoor Properties, Julia Lee, DDS, Atria, and in memory of Michael Oakey and Bill Fuller.  Four holes had special prizes associated with them:  Ball inside Circle hole 10, Most Accurate Drive, hole 13, Closest to the Pin, hole 16, and on hole 2, a “Hole-in-One” prize of a new car was sponsored by Dirito Brothers Walnut Creek.  Alas, the car did not go home with any golfer this year!

After the round, participants convened at the Event Center for a Back Forty Texas BBQ lunch.  Each golfer received bandana knapsacks with theme wine glasses and Kathy Hunt’s hand-crafted macarons. Winners of Annie Oakley flight were Claudia Terry, Karla Witte, Darlene Martel and Kim Selby. Calamity Jane flight winners were Olivia Hsueh, Soonee Kim, Soon Jang Gi, Yooyang Yu. Pearl Hart winners were MaryJean Kidd, Joan Baggett, Rochelle Weisen, and Michelle Landreth. Belle Starr winners were Joanne Brennan, Valerie Helenson, Ann Fuller and Genie Tyler. Winning teams received cash prizes and those teams not placing received golf balls. Closest to the Pin was awarded to Joyce McCann and Most Accurate Drive went to Sunhi Kim. Free raffle prizes were also awarded including gift certificates and golf lessons.

The Invitational was a huge success made possible by the dedicated efforts of Robin Moreau, Denise Pratt, Lana Yagle and their committee, comprised of Joanne Brennan, Toni Snyder, MaryJean Kidd, Margo Dutton, Lynda Pritchett, Olivia Hsueh, Kathy Hunt, Bari Mantel, Marilyn Dwiggins, Teddi Swanson, Pil Choo, MaryJo Leary, Agnes Shin, Vanida Nalamlieng and Kay Doyle.

The Invitational Committee is extremely grateful for the support provided by Mark Heptig and Jacque Vigil.