By Linda Scheffer

On August 25, the final day of the 18ers’ toughest competition of the year, Agnes Shin won the 2016 Club Championship. The win puts Shin’s name on a perpetual Championship trophy, and she also receives a nice cash prize.

Anybody who plays in this tournament understands that the winner truly earns the distinction and awards that come with it. This tournament is fifty-four holes played for low gross score over three days. Shin shot a gross score of 266 to triumph over Grace Nitta’s 270 and Janice Davis’s 273. Nitta and Davis came in second and third, respectively, in the Championship flight. There is no net prize in the Championship flight.

In the First Flight, winners were: Theresa Kim, low gross, 274, Cletia Bowron, second low gross, 278, and Jane Lee, low net, 213.

Second flight winners were: Joan Baggett, low gross, 297, Vanida Nalamieng, second low gross, 303, and Karin Romak, low net, 212.