by Margo Dutton – Club Correspondent


Members of the Rossmoor Women’s 18-Hole Golf Club celebrated with old and new friends at their annual holiday party in the Event Center on December 2nd.
Del Poirier, Social Chair, welcomed the group.  She extended appreciation to her committee for organizing this event after a one-year layoff because of Covid. Janice Davis this year’s Captain, thanked the pro shop staff of Mark Heptig, Brent Mulanax, Wayne Weckerlin, Jacque Vigil for their assistance throughout the year.  Denise Pratt, Tournament Chair, expressed deep gratitude to Jacque Vigil for her dedication to the 18ers this year.  Her assistance with the pairings and score tabulations made Pratt’s running of the weekly outings seamless.
Many of the members contributed five dollars to the birdie pot this year.  The funds were distributed amongst 31 members that hit birdies.  Claudia Terry made the highest number birdies again this year on Thursday play for a total of 13 birdies, Grace Nitta made 12 birdies and Joanne Kim made ten.
Some notable highlights for the year:  Hole in One: Mae Marcotte #13, June 5th; Claudia Terry #16, August 5th; and Sunhi Kim #10, October 31. Eagle: Soonee Kim on hole #15, July 8th.
Chip-ins, Teddi Swanson made five chip-ins for the year, tying the record number for the club. Denise Pratt, Joanne Brennan, Margo Dutton, Marlene Seffern and Vanida Nalamlieng each had four chip-ins.
Eclectic awards were presented to the following members:  Overall low gross (a three-way tie) scoring a 76, Anne Hamilton, Joyce McCann and Claudia Terry. Overall low net 55 Olivia Hsueh.
The following were honored for winning major club tournaments:  2021 Handicap Tournament winner Joan Binnings, Club Championship winner Claudia Terry, and Charm winner Agnes Shin.
The new 2021 board was introduced:  Daisy Soo Hoo Captain, Ann Hamilton Co-Captain, Kathy Hunt Secretary, and Mary Jean Kidd Treasurer.
Daisy Soo Hoo, the new incoming Captain, presented Janice Davis with a gift for her outstanding job as the 2021 Captain.
Daisy Soo Hoo  closed the event wishing members a happy holiday season.