by Daisy Soo Hoo – Club Correspondent

The Rossmoor 18ers gathered for their annual holiday party in the Event Center on Thursday, December 6th.

Members enjoyed cocktails, lunch, catching up with friends and spreading holiday cheer.

Holiday luncheon chairpersons Del Poirier and Olivia Hsueh gave the group a warm welcome.  They thanked the following for their assistance: Mike Oakey, Harry Laiolo, Olivia Hsueh, Carole Geoghegan, Nancy Ringelstein and Joanne Brennan.

Special appreciation to the pro shop staff for their assistance and support throughout the year.

The previous captains in attendance were introduced:  Pat Deisem, Mary Hufford, Olivia Hsueh, Pat Taylor, Marilyn Treppa, Peggy Yamada, Donna Rhodes, Margo Dutton, Teddi Swanson and Del Poirier.

Marcia Belcher, Tournament Chairwoman, announced the 2018 Charm Winner.  There were six winners on the designated Thursday Charm Days:  Marlene Seffern, Grace Nitta, Joanne Kim, Toni Snyder, Olivia Hsueh and Jane Lee.  The winner of the Charm Girl play off is Jane Lee.

Belcher continued with the Women’s Golf Association of Northern California (WGANC) net stroke play awards.  To be eligible for the award, members had to play three out of the six designated stroke play rounds.  Thirty two players were eligible for the award.  The pin winners are:  1st flight Joanne Kim 206 / 68.7, 2nd flight Jane Lee 205 / 68.3, 3rd flight Joanne Brennan 217 / 72.3 and 4th flight Marcia Belcher 225 / 75.

Twenty nine players had at least one chip-in during the Thursday tournaments. There were several Thursdays with no winners so the balance of the funds are distributed to the members with the highest number of chip-ins.  This year three of the members had three chip-ins during Thursday play:  Robin Moreau, Gail Ramirez and Joan Munn.

Eclectic awards were presented to the following members:  Field low gross of 80 Theresa Kim and low net of 53 to Marcia Belcher.  First flight low gross 83 Grace Nitta, 1st low net 64 Joanne Kim, 2nd low net 67 Olivia Hsueh, 3rd low net 72 Chong Harney, 4th low net 74 Claudia Terry.  Second flight low gross 82 Daisy Soo Hoo, 1st low net 57 Jane Lee, 2nd low net 60 Peggy Yamada, 3rd low net 63 Nancy Groswird, 4th low net 63 Pat Diesem,  Third flight low gross 92 Joannne Brennan, 1st low net 59 Judy Fletcher, 2nd low net 54 Shin Kim, 3rd low net 62 Teddi Swanson, 4th low net 63 Pat Taylor.

The most improved player of the year award was presented to Denise Pratt.  Her handicap in November 2017 was 34.8 and she ended the season with a 28.8 handicap.

Norberto and his groundskeeper crew were acknowledged and honored at the luncheon.  The 18ers expressed their appreciation for the excellent job that they do in upkeeping the course.

The 2018 Handicap Tournament winner was presented to Lynda Pritchett and the Club Champion award to Joyce McCann.

Denise Pratt, the new incoming Captain, presented Joan Munn with a gift for her outstanding job as the 2018 Captain.

Save the date for the Launch the Season party on February 7th.