by Claudia Terry – Club Correspondent

The Classic Tournament, one of the longest running events for the 18ers, stirred up a lot of excitement on August 3, day one of the competition. Sixteen out of the twenty teams in contention came in under par in their net scores. The Classic is classic, as it is a standard four-ball, stroke play tournament where teams of two women compete for a two-day low net aggregate score. Any two-woman team from any flight can win the overall competition.

Tied for the lead after day one were two teams from the second flight, Agnes Shin and Marsha Jennings, as well as the team of Joan Baggett and Laura Ingalls, with each team coming in at 9 under par.

On August 10, the second day of the tournament, the victors emerged. After the round, all but one team were under par, some more than others. Shin and Jennings held their first-place lead and managed to score even better than they had on day one by shooting 12 strokes under par, winning the overall prize with a total of 123 and besting Baggett and Ingalls who scored another very respectable low round of 7 under par and who came in at first place for Flight 2 with a net total of 128. Other winners in Flight 2 were Cindy Barni and Judith Coleman-Cohen, second place with 137, and June Chao and Xuemei Reinhart, third place with 137.

First-place winners of Flight 1 were Grace Nitta and Sue Yoon with a two-day total of 129. Daisy Soo Hoo and Mae Marcotte came in second place in that flight with a total of 133. Jayoung Lee and Anne Su managed to rise from fifth place after day one to third place on day two, ending up with a 133.

Flight 3 first place went to Anna Kim and Nancy Park at 128, second place to Pil Choo and Robin Moreau (last year’s winners) at 130, and third place to Esta Podberesky and Peggy Yamada at 132.

Chip-ins over the course of the two days were made by Joyce McCann on hole 7, Mary Jean Kidd on hole 8, and Yamada on hole 10.

Birdies were made by Donna Friend and Lynda Pritchett and Karla Witte on hole 2; Teddi Swanson, Peggy Yamada, Jayoung Lee, Sue Yoon, McCann, and Anne Su on hole 10; Grace Nitta on hole 11; Jayoung Lee and McCann on hole 16; and Karla Witte on hole 18.

The women’s 18ers thank Jacque Vigil in the Pro Shop for setting up the tournament, creating scorecards, scoring and posting, and as always, being an essential part of a successful tournament. Special thanks go to Denise Pratt and Gail Ramirez for cheerfully checking in the participants, and to the excellent luncheon team of Stella Chan, Lana Yagle, Maryhelen Greaves, and Donna Wagner, who presented a delicious meal featuring a variety of California Pizza Kitchen pizzas and homemade salads topped off with cookies and brownies for dessert.