The annual Spring Fling was held on April 6th with 102 women golfers from the Niners and the 18ers clubs participating. This year the event was hosted by the 18ers and was run by Jacky Dunn, Judy Fletcher and Marlene Seffern of the 18ers.

The day began with a continental breakfast of scones and coffee served in the foyer area of the Creekside Grill before the shotgun start at 8:30. Most teams were made up of two Niners and two 18ers and the format was a Rossmoor scramble.

It was a day that threatened rain and in fact there were several short periods of light drizzle during the round, but the heavy rains held off until players were happily enjoying the lunch and awards ceremony which was held in the Event Center. A wonderful tostada salad lunch was served by Creekside Grill, and the winners were announced right before the fashion show segment of the event commenced.

Mark Heptig acted as emcee while volunteers recruited from the 18er and Niner clubs strutted across the stage to model the latest fashions offered in the pro shop. It was a fabulous finish to a fun and eventful day.


Winners from the four flights were:

Antigua Flight: 1st Place: Barbara Jordan, Olivia Hsueh, Pat Baker, Soonee Kim.

2nd Place: Anne Phillips, Janice Davis, Susan Day, Teddi Swanson.

3rd Place: Beverly Meinbress, Daisy Soo Hoo, Fran Elvin, Peggy Yamada.


Bette/Court Flight: 1st Place: Angie Logsdon, Claudia Terry, Teri LaPierre, Vicki Simpson.

2nd Place: Joan Major, Kathleen Young, Lorraine Weisenberg, Patricia Taylor.

3rd Place: Barbara May, Linda Pritchett, Margo Dutton, Valery Helenson.


GG Blue Flight: 1st Place: Pauline Hanley, Linda Davis, Sherry Endicott, Deirdre Dunne.

2nd Place: Carol Andreini-Hicks, Marian Handy, Marcia Thomson, Victoria Kelly.

3rd Place: Kaaren Binder, Katie Pittman, Lorrie McCurdy, Shari Ward.


Sport Haley Flight: 1st Place: Joan Latham, Lana Yagle, Laura Lee Leong, Roseanne Wright.

2nd Place: Camilla Clare, Janet Jolley, Mary Ann Garvey, Sally Allen.

3rd Place: Gisela Hendrickson, Marian King, Mary Beth Hodge, Pat Hyde.